Brownie cupcakes with marshmallow topping

I love the corner brownies.  It’s crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy in the middle.  The cupcakes turned out perfect.  I added chocolate chips to make it a little more chocolatey. I also added about 1/3 cup of apple sauce to make the batter a little thinner.

I’m posting the pinterest picture and then I’ll post mine.  The “icing” is so beautiful. (remember…I am not the cook in the family.  My creations are often “frankenfood”)  I have never made homemade marshmallows.  I asked myself how hard is it to really follow instructions.  I mean really- any dummy can carefully follow the recipe especially when it has pictures of what it should look like.  I can totally do this.  hahahahahaha

pretty cup cake

After following the recipe perfectly, I taste it….WOW!!!!  It is really good.  It’s thick and fluffy.  Perfect!!!  Then I realize I have no pastry bags. (Kaylee took them)  I have no baggies.  Nothing I can put this marshmallow creme in to pipe it on the cupcake.  Hmmmm  ok…plan B.  I’ll just spoon it on- it won’t be as pretty but it tasted good.

Next step is to take a torch….(oh joy…..Kaylee took it with her)  Ok- plan C-put the cupcakes in the broiler to lightly toast the marshmallow.

Did you know marshmallow topping catches fire???  Do you remember what it’s like to blow out the marshmallow on the end of the stick you were roasting over the campfire???  It’s amazing how you can blow out the fire on 18 cupcakes while they are flaming in the oven.

"frankenfood"

After I pull out the cupcakes, I turn off the cooking timer (aka the fire alarm) I’m very sad.  I really tried.  Dexter made me feel better- he said “but a smore is best when the marshmallow is black” :-/  They were good.  Didn’t taste like charcoal or a campfire- The kids ate them.  But they were so ugly. hahaha   I’ll keep trying- I haven’t poisoned anyone..

YET

Here’s the original brownie cupcakes… http://www.cookingclassy.com/2012/11/brownie-cupcakes-with-marshmallow-frosting/

4 thoughts on “Brownie cupcakes with marshmallow topping

      • You have done a fantastic job! It is amazing what you have done in starting your blog just one day! I am very excited for you. Great job! BTW, I think you may have saved me the trouble of burning my own marshmallow frosting.

  1. You have done a fantastic job! It is amazing what you have done in starting your blog just one day! I am very excited for you. Great job! BTW, I think you may have saved me the trouble of burning my own marshmallow frosting.

Leave a Reply

